Character Reference

Since the day I started paying taxes…

Every year I was eligible, I claimed an Earned Income Tax Credit on my federal tax return. I’ve built three new homes, each time receiving a two-year tax abatement for new construction. I’ve worked for Phoenix International (recipient of economic development tax incentives), Prairie Public (non-profit, partly funded by the government), The Chamber (non-profit), John Deere Electronic Solutions (recipient of economic development tax incentives), and Kilbourne Group (recipient of various downtown redevelopment incentives). I pay taxes, and I benefit from the system, as do each of us.

I am grateful for those who take the risk to start and grow a business; they gave me the opportunity of a great job.

I am grateful for the programs that have supported my family’s love of building; they helped me to build equity and create beautiful homes.

I am grateful for public television, which relies on donations and government funding in lieu of advertising income; it’s the only safe space on television for my kids.

I am grateful my city leaders have learned from the urban renewal mistakes of the past and have found ways to partner with the private sector to invest in what’s already been built, instead of paving what I consider to be an urban paradise to put up a parking lot.

In what sense is it ok to characterize citizens who live within the system as corrupt?

About Yo Adrienne Olson

Yo Adrienne Olson is a Fargo girl, a blessed mom, a lucky wife, an innovative communications professional and a closet entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Character Reference

  1. a says:

    nice to see you back. Is the new direction a steady one?

Thoughts?

