Visions Realized

I’m a sucker for terms like visioning board, personal mission statement and the like. I’ve never actually devoted energy or time to creating these things for myself, but I always thought it would be cool if I did. It’s the part of my personality that had me spending hours as a kid pushing papers from this side of my pretend office desk to that. In college, I read about feng shui and subsequently tied a red ribbon to my toilet pipe to stop the flow of money out of my life. I’ve read all bazillion pages of Think and Grow Rich, even without the encouragement of a master mind group.

My mom, a master corporate training who should charge me for her services, once sat me down and led me through a deck of cards that resulted in a list of the personal priorities that drive the direction of my life. Woah. I know that list is still around here somewhere…

Proposal collage

The Proposal

To propose, my hubby made a collage of pictures of things he knew were special to our

relationship (then cut it into pieces and sent me all over town to hunt them down – but that’s another story). It’s all there: live music and beer in the sun, a mountain trail map, places we’ve been and dream of being…

When we were struggling to find common ground on when to start a family, his 8×10 picture of our union meant everything to me. In the upper right corner is a fatty little baby face, proving that hubby had visions of children in our future too.  It was part of our shared vision.

Looking at the picture today, I’m reminded of all the bliss in my future, as another collage piece shows the aged faces of a man and woman, side by side, happy.

AJ's Vision

AJ's Vision Realized

My son has a ‘vision board’ of his own. After months of attempting to convince him to just TRY the potty, my husband drew up a bathroom plan for AJ that culminated in him receiving a balloon. And that’s all it took. AJ has a visual depiction of what he needs to do to acquire one of his favorite things. And we’re one step closer to only buying one size of diapers.

It’s enough to prove to me that this stuff really works. Decide what you want, render it in physical form, be it a vision board, a toilet ribbon, or a written list of life goals, and it will happen. It’s about focus, consistency, reminding yourself that what you want is important enough to dedicate time and energy to achieving it.

I’ve always dreamed of having the freedom to work from a home office. I want the flexibility to read the newspaper in the sunrise, listen to the birds while I push my papers, that sort of thing. For years, I’ve collected pictures of home work spaces that inspire me. Time to get visioning.

About Yo Adrienne Olson

Yo Adrienne Olson is a Fargo girl, a blessed mom, a lucky wife, an innovative communications professional and a closet entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Mommy Milestones. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visions Realized

  1. jen says:

    Visions, missions, feng shui – it’s really all the same. Controlled by the mind, it’s a powerful thing.

  2. FeistyEats says:

    Great post and what a neat proposal from your hubby. Good luck on your vision.

Thoughts?

