Nothing says Grandma like Molasses Sugar Cookies

Twas the day before Mother’s Day and all through the house, the sweet smell of molasses and cloves…

My little man and I spent our morning with this little recipe of my grandma’s. Master bakers we are not. The cookies came out of the oven as ball shaped as they went in. My husband casually walked by and informed me that I should have dipped a slightly damp bottom of a cup in sugar and used it to flatten the dough balls before baking. Hmmm… his grandma taught him well.

I don’t remember grandma Vetter making cookies much. If my family readers have memories, I’d be grateful if you’d share.

Licking the spoonLicking the spoonlicking the spoon

Ajax thought licking the batter was the best part. It is; and somehow I lost the privilege when he came along. he likes it

The cookies were divine. Then Hubby taught us how his grandma served them. Take one cookie, fresh from the oven, and top it with a healthy serving of vanilla ice cream, then top with another cookie. Wish I had a picture for you. Next time…

Molasses Sugar Cookies (soft)
¾ c. shortening
1 c. sugar
¼ c. molasses
1 egg
2 tsp. baking powder
2 c. flour
½ tsp. cloves
½ tsp. ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. salt
Form in balls and roll in sugar. Bake 375° for 8-10 minutes.

In other farm thinking… It’s 60 degrees, peaceful, quiet, calm and sunny outside. I can hear every insect and bird, but almost nothing else outside. If I close my eyes, I’m sitting in a metal folding chair outside my grandparents Braddock farmhouse. He’s in the other chair, on the other side of the open garage door. We don’t talk… just listen and think. Every three minutes he picks up the paper cup next to his chair, lifts it to his face and spits.

About Yo Adrienne Olson

Yo Adrienne Olson is a Fargo girl, a blessed mom, a lucky wife, an innovative communications professional and a closet entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Braddock and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nothing says Grandma like Molasses Sugar Cookies

  1. Jenn B says:

    Look for a recipe called Overnight Cookies in Gramma’s recipe box. Best coffee dippers you’ll ever taste, it was a real treat for us back in the days when dessert was a novelty.

Thoughts?

